League of Women Voters of Duluth: Annual Meeting "Zoom" meeting
May 12, 2022
7:00 p.m. - 8:15 p.m.

SECRETARY MINUTES

Welcome: Meg Litts, President, welcomed members and reviewed "Zoom" etiquette. She also announced upcoming League events: DEI meeting (May 14), Environmental Action meeting (May 23), Sisters Book Club (May 25), Plant & Book Sale (June 11), Fall Kickoff (September 8, in-person, Harbor City International), Holiday Social (December 8, in-person, Building for Women)

Reading of the DEI Statement: Mary Faulkner, Vice President, read the LWV Duluth Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Statement.

Recognition and Introduction of Current Board Members: President Meg Litts named the board members for 2021-22. They are: President Meg Litts, Vice President: Mary Faulkner, 2nd Vice President: Anita Gille, Secretary Gwen Thorson, Treasurer Nancy Aldridge, Sandra Grandmaison, Julie Seidelmann, Ellen Wiss, Sue DeNio, Gail Nouska, Gay Trachsel, Jane Hovland, Theresa O'Gara. President Litts also acknowledged the following outgoing board members and thanked them for their service: Gay Trachsel, Gail Nouska, Julie Seidelmann, Theresa O'Gara.

Recognition of New Members: President Litts welcomed 37 new LWV Duluth members, who joined during the period April 2021-May 2022.

Recognition of Lifetime Members (50+ consecutive years of membership): President Litts recognized Lee Ball, Judy Bailey, Mary Evans, Marree Seitz, and Adele Unzen.

Recognition of Youth Civic Engagement Fellow Natalie Miller: Board member Sue DeNio introduced Natalie Miller, a student at East High School, who gave a brief description of her work during the 2021-22 school year. S. DeNio also mentioned that the Youth Civic Engagement Fellow program will be expanded in 2022-23 to also include a student from Denfeld High School.

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 7:16 p.m. by President Meg Litts.

Establishment of a Quorum: President Meg Litts announced that a quorum was established with 60+ members present. (Quorum=51 required, based on 204 members) She also explained the voting process for this meeting, which would be done via "Zoom," using a poll process.

Treasurer's Report:

Treasurer Nancy Aldridge summarized the report. There were no questions. The report will be placed on file.

Report of Budget Committee:

Treasurer Nancy Aldridge presented the proposed 2022-2023 budget. (Details were provided to the entire membership in the April 2022 "Voter" newsletter.) A **motion** was made (Christina Woods) and **seconded** (Rosie Loeffler-Kemp) to approve the budget, as submitted by the Budget Committee. Discussion followed. **Motion passed unanimously.**

Report of Bylaws Committee:

Committee member, Julie Seidelmann, presented the bylaws revisions. (Information for access to details was available to the entire membership in the April 2022 "Voter" newsletter.) A **motion** was made (Sandra Grandmaison) and **seconded** (Sue DeNio) to approve the bylaws revisions, as submitted by the Bylaws Committee. **Motion passed unanimously.**

Report of Nominating Committee:

Committee member, Anita Gille (for committee chairperson, Candy Winkler), presented the proposed nominating slate. (Details were provided to the entire membership in the April 2022 "Voter" newsletter.) No additional nominations were made. **The secretary was instructed to cast a unanimous ballot and the ballot was elected.** Presi-

dent (2022-23): Mary Faulker, Vice President (2022-23): Jane Hovland, 2nd Vice President (2022-24): Anita Gille, Board members (2022-24): Katherine Rasley, Jeri Quest and Meg Litts.

Welcome to new President, Vice President, and Board of Directors:

Outgoing President Meg Litts acknowledged the 2022-2023 Board of Directors and introduced incoming President Mary Faulkner, who offered a brief message to the membership.

Adjournment:

A **motion** was made (Tina Welsh) and **seconded** (Christina Woods) to adjourn the meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 7:50 p.m.

The business meeting was followed by guest speaker, Jodi Slick, whose presentation was "Cogeneration of Community Solutions to Our Most Challenging Problems."

Respectfully submitted: Gwen Thorson, Secretary